It’s a little bit ironic, don’t you think?

by nikkilehman2013

I’m looking at a 20,000+ word document.  The font must be size ten with the tiniest possible margins because the words are crammed onto this document.  A document containing all the rules, regulations, and standards for licensing foster parents.  I literally look up to the heavens and ask God what He’s thinking.  

Anyone who knows me, knows I hate rules.  I’m more of a guidelines person.  I don’t like things to be black and white, I prefer gray.  I feel suffocated by structure, and I’m not one for continuity.  

So you can understand my confusion as the job description for my new calling begins to unfold.  I don’t get to just go to churches and public speak.  My job isn’t just to get people excited and on board to foster parent.  The real nitty-gritty of this new job is that 30 pages of rules.  Knowing it.  Explaining it.  Enforcing it.   

I might have freaked out a little.

Then God reminded me of those who came before me.   

David, a shepherd who was bound for something bigger.  

Rahab, a prostitute with an important role to play.  

Esther, a woman with no rights but incredible power.  

Peter, a fisherman and something a little more.

Paul, persecutor of Christ, who became something just a little different.  

The list could go on and on.  It’s the whole Bible actually.  I’m sure they all had the opportunity to look to the heavens and wonder out loud what God was thinking.  

I might fight it, but I know what He’s thinking.  He’s thinking His grace is sufficient for me and His power is perfected in weakness.  He’s thinking with faith I will move mountains.  He’s thinking this is for his glory, definitely not mine.  

And I’m confident.  I’m confident that His power is sufficient enough to take a reject-or of regulation and turn her into an executive director of a company charged with regulating.  I’m confident with faith we will see families restored or created.  And I’m confident this will all be for His glory.  

I’m certainly not the right candidate for this job.  There’s no doubt about that.  And I guess that’s the irony of our faith.  He takes what’s not there and transforms it into something it could never be….and that’s to His glory.  

 

