Hanging out in the desert

by nikkilehman2013

1 Corinthians 2:12

“12 Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may know the things freely given to us by God,”

I’ve been reading through Exodus the last week.  I can’t help but see the parallels between the story and myself.  I’d really like to relate to Moses, but in reality I’m finding myself more in line with the Israelites. 

In the past I would laugh at these stories.  How could these people be so foolish?  They saw miracle after miracle, but as soon as they were in the desert they wanted to go back to slavery.  They heard God speak and promised to devote themselves to them, but Moses was gone for a couple weeks and they built an idol.  Foolish Israelites, can you not handle the silence?  Does God have to speak every day to confirm His plans to you? 

And then I feel the fast stab of conviction.  God confirmed over and over again that Paul and I should start this business.  I complained.  I didn’t want to go out on faith alone.  I wanted a little security.  So in His mercy He gave it.  He gave us enough to live on and some faithful supporters to help us start this journey. 

I thanked the Lord and “packed my bags”.  We began the journey like the Israelites shortly after Egypt.  They danced and sang; we felt full of joy.

And then the silence hit.  And like the Israelites my eyes began to dart.  Where am I?  How did we get to this place?  Maybe we weren’t supposed to go!

 It’s embarrassing really.  But it’s reality and I don’t want to pretend it’s not there, I just want to do better.  

Sometimes God says “Go” and sometimes He says, “Wait”.  How do you know?  You just do.  There’s no magical way to articulate it.  The questions is, when he says wait, will you wait?  Can you stand still Christian?  Can you stay confident?  Can you stay faithful? 

We need each other for that.  We need the Word of God for that.  We need prayer for that.  It takes great faith to go, but don’t be deceived, it takes great faith to wait too. 

And we can do better.  Unlike the Israelites, we have the Holy Spirit.  A constant communion and connection to our God.  And He is so faithful.  When God says to go, go.  And when He says wait, wait. 

 

