That one time when I took a screaming kid to church.

by nikkilehman2013

screaming kid

Phillipians 2:9-11

“9 For this reason also, God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, 10 so that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow, of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11 and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”

I took a very restless and wiggly child to a baptism service a few weeks ago.  I should mention that in addition to being restless and wiggly, she is also slightly troubled. On a daily basis she is prone to outbursts of anger and frustration that can explode into fits of rage and shouting.  I don’t know what I was thinking as we sat in the second row.

And then it happened.  A young man got up to share his testimony and the word “No!” bubbled out of her as if it had been waiting for that exact moment.  She began to wiggle and kick the seat in front of her.  The “No’s” spilling out louder and faster as the speaker continued with his testimony.

I knew any attempt to move her out of that seat would result in a louder scene, all I could do was squeeze her into a tight hug and rub her back.   And as quickly as the outburst occurred, it stopped.  She was perfectly still.  The speaker finished his testimony and the church clapped with joy to witness another baptism.  Speaker two stepped up to the plate.  In the excitement of the baptism I had missed my exit opportunity.

Armed with fruit snacks, I was determined prevent another outburst with a sugary distraction.  However, the child shocked me when she looked into my eyes and yelled, “Shush, your wrapper is too loud, I can’t hear!”

What?!?  My wrapper?  This is to keep you quiet, kid.  But I didn’t need it.  I didn’t need the fruit snacks.  She was perfectly still listening to the testimonies of believers.  She was caught up in the gospel and didn’t need any distractions.  The power of the gospel had literally silenced her rage.  It was one of the most powerful scenes I have ever witnessed.

The enemy determined to silence believers, using this young child as his pawn.  And in the end, he was silenced.  He couldn’t use her.  She was caught up in the power of the gospel and neither the devil nor sugary fruit snacks would keep her from hearing it.

Oh how often we forget the power of the gospel.  How often we forget the power of Jesus name.  I can honestly tell you, I will never forget the day I took a screaming kid to church and watched first hand the power of both.

Romans 1:16 “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.”

